About Big Bash League 2020-21

About Big Bash League 2020-21

The tenth edition of the KFC Big Bash League gets underway in Australia on December 10 as Sydney Sixers bid to defend their title and secure a third trophy.

Sydney Sixers travel to Hobart Hurricanes on December 10 for the first match, and the tournament continues through to the Final on February 6.

Cricket Australia has put some innovation into this season’s tournament as the best T20 players in Australia and some top overseas stars to go head-to-head once more.

A split powerplay, dubbed “Power Surge”, a substitution option called “The X-factor” and a change in the scoring system to reward bonus points for quick starts will all be introduced.

The OLBG cricket tipsters will have you covered throughout the season with BBL Predictions on the regular season matches as well as the playoffs and if you are looking for Who will win BBL10? then you can also see which team they are backing to win the Big Bash League Outright too.

The league features eight teams, those teams play each other twice during the regular season resulting in a total of fifty-six matches, there are then five playoff matches to decide the winner of the BBL10 meaning a total of sixty-one matches in the 2020-21 season.

There is not a great deal in the betting for the outright winners given how difficult this tournament is to call, at the time of writing (October 2020) six of the eight clubs come within a range of 9/2 to 15/2 with the finalist from last year, the Sixers and Stars heading the market. One thing to take note of during the regular season is that the home sides don’t really seem to have the upper hand, from the 54 regular season matches last season, only 25 home teams picked up the win compared to 29 visiting teams meaning 54% of visiting teams won.

34 of the 54 matches had the home team as favorite to win the match, only 15 of those (44%) actually went on to win the match meaning the visiting underdogs won 56% of the matches. It was a more even split with the visiting team were favorites, from 20 matches it was a 10/10 split for home and away victories.

Melbourne Stars – so well last season until they lost in the rain in the final – are favorites to win this year’s tournament. Sydney Sixers, the defending champions, are second-favorites.

Related Articles