Big Bash League Teams

Big Bash League Teams


Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers play their home matches at the Adelaide Oval in South Australia, their coach is former Australian fast bowler Jason Gillespie and their captain for this season is Travis Head, they won their one and only title in the 2017-18 season when beaten the Hurricanes by 25 runs in the final having finished second in the regular season behind the Scorchers.

Brisbane Heat

The Brisbane Heat are coached by former Australian batsman Darren Lehmann and captained by leading BBL run-scorer Chris Lynn, they play their home games at the Brisbane Cricket Ground in Queensland, the Heat won their only title at BBL02 back in 2012-13 when beating the Scorchers by 34 runs in the final, they actually only finished fourth in the regular season, just about making the playoffs!

Hobart Hurricanes

The Hobart Hurricanes are one of two teams who are yet to win this tournament, they have made two finals (2013-14 & 2017-18) but failed to win either of those, losing to the Scorchers in 2014 and the Strikers is 2018. They play their home games at the Bellerive Oval which is in Tasmania, they are coach by former Australian bowling coach Adam Griffith and captained by Matthew Wade.

Melbourne Renegades

The Melbourne Renegades are now coached by Michael Klinger, the man who is the third most run-scorer in the BBL, and are captained by Aaron Finch the man who passed Klinger in the run-scorer list as the 2nd most! They play their home games at the Marvel Stadium in Victoria, they won their first title in the 2018-19 season beating the city rivals the Stars by 13 runs, that was their first and only final appearance to date.

Melbourne Stars

Coached by former Australian batsman David Hussey, the Melbourne Stars are captained by Glenn Maxwell, the man who sits fifth in the all-time BBL scorers list, they play their home games at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Victoria. The Stars are the second team (along with the Hurricanes) who are yet to win this tournament, they have made three finals including the last two but as of yet have failed to record that maiden win.

Perth Scorchers

The most successful team in BBL history are the Perth Scorchers, they made the first four finals, winning two of those (2014 & 2015) and they also won the final in 2017 so five final appearances producing three wins. They play their home games at the Perth Stadium in Western Australia, they are coached by Adam Voges and captained by Mitchell Marsh.

Sydney Sixers

Having won the inaugural final back in 2012, the Sixers endured two final defeats before winning the trophy again in the 2019-20 season. They play their home games at the Sydney Cricket Ground in New South Wales, the have been coached by Greg Shipperd since 2015, the former Stars coach has a good record of getting teams into the playoffs (He did so in each of his four seasons with the Stars) and they are captained by Moises Henriques.

Sydney Thunder

The Sydney Thunder have only ever made one final, that was during the 2015-16 season and they beat the Stars by 3 wickets to win their one and only BBL title. They play their home games at the Sydney Showground Stadium in New South Wales, they are coached by Shane Bond, the man who holds the second-best all-time bowling strike rate in test cricket, and are captained by Callum Ferguson.

Related Articles